Library On/Library Off

Nicolibrarian explores the secret life of information

New school year, new blog name

with 3 comments

It has been a long summer. And while the humidity and temperature aren’t yet aware of the shift to Fall, I’m heading back for my last semester in my Master’s program at the University of Illinois’ Graduate School of Library and Information Science. Today, in fact, is my first day of classes, and with the launch of a new semester, I’m also changing this here blog’s name.

What has been known as Libraries with/out Walls is, as you’ve seen, now “Library On/Library Off.” I’m changing the name in recognition of the many other initiatives by a wide range of organizations called “Libraries without Walls,” and to blog about my areas of interest that others may not always categorize as “library” related – hence the library off. As always, I hope you’ll let me know what you think by commenting away,  dropping me a line via email or catching me on Twitter.

As far as my classes for this semester, I’m taking Information Modeling with Karen Wickett, Digital Preservation with Jerome McDonough, and Electronic Publishing: Technologies and Practices with Julia Flanders. (You can read the course descriptions here if you are so inclined: http://www.lis.illinois.edu/academics/courses/catalog.)

Here’s to Library On!

Written by nicolibrarian

August 23, 2010 at 12:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love the new name and the wider scope of your blog. I look forward to more good reading from you!

    bag

    August 23, 2010 at 4:20 pm

  2. Happy start of the new semester!

    melissaautumn

    August 24, 2010 at 3:48 am

  3. Like the change!

    hythlae

    August 24, 2010 at 3:51 am


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

